Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

ScoScoop | April 25, 2018

Scroll to top


No Comments

MGWA Honors WRHU’s Ed Ingles

MGWA Honors WRHU’s Ed Ingles

Metropolitan Golf Association


ELMSFORD, N.Y. (June 19, 2013) – The Metropolitan Golf Writers Association celebrated its 62nd National Awards Dinner on Tuesday, June  18 with over 650 guests in attendance at the Westchester Mariott in Tarrytown, N.Y.

Master of Ceremonies Bruce Beck of WNBC-TV kept the evening entertaining as the 2013 National Award recipients were named and honored with the Associations’ prestigious awards.

Former PGA Champion and 2008 Ryder Cup Captain Paul Azinger was given the Gold Tee Award, the highest award presented by the Association. The Gold Tee Award is presented to an individual whose achievements throughout their career exemplify the best spirit and traditions of the sport of golf, and he was recognized for his leadership and achievements both on and off the golf course.

The Met Area’s own Charlie Robson, the Executive Director of the Metropolitan PGA, was honored with the Distinguished Service Award for his years of service to the game. Robson’s accomplishments include expanding tournament operations, building and fostering strong relationships between professionals and clubs in the Met Area, and developing an extensive junior golf program.

The Club of the Year Award was presented to Old Oaks Country Club for being actively involved in upholding the traditions of golf through support and dedication to the game. Old Oaks, located in Purchase, N.Y., prides itself on its philanthropic staff and members, all who look to make a difference beyond the golf course.

Ed Ingles, a longtime sports radio broadcaster, was honored with the prestigious Lincoln Werden Golf Journalism Award, presented to a writer, broadcaster, photographer, or artist for outstanding golf journalism. Having covered 35 Masters for CBS Radio and countless other sporting events, Ingles has proven his dedication to providing outstanding radio journalism.

Paul Azinger signed copies of his book for everyone in attendance (Photo/Helen Stock)The Mary Bea Porter Award, which recognizes an individual who uses golf to better the lives of others, was given to Kevin Hood, the general manager at Cherry Hills Country Club in Colorado (site of the 2012 U.S. Amateur Championship). Last January, Hood saved the life of a member who lost consciousness by fearlessly performing CPR. The member, after spending days in intensive care, is still alive thanks to Hood’s quick reaction and calm demeanor.

Winnie Palmer, who devoted many years of her life to charity work, is the namesake behind the Winne Palmer Award, given to a group or individual that works to give their time and energy to those who are less fortunate. The 2013 Winnie Palmer award was given to the PGA TOUR Wives Association, whose members spend time helping hundreds of charities. For the last 25 years, the TOUR Wives have given back to the community and made a difference in the lives of many.

Given to an individual or organization that promotes and supports golf through commercial sponsorship of an event, the Bing Crosby Tournament Sponsor Award was presented to The Honda Classic, which over the years has come to establish itself as one of the premier events on the PGA TOUR. Honda is the oldest continuous sponsor on the PGA TOUR, and The Honda Classic contributes millions of dollars each year to worthwhile charities.

For more information regarding the Met Golf Writers Association, please contact Kate Keller at

Originally published by the Metropolitan Golf Association.

Submit a Comment

* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *