Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

ScoScoop | April 25, 2018

Scroll to top


No Comments

ONA13 Selects Hofstra Student Journalist

ONA13 Selects Hofstra Student Journalist

Journalism major Max Knoblauch ’14 has been selected by the Online News Association as a member of the ONA13 Student Newsroom.

ONA13 Student Newsroom selects 20 promising digital journalists

WASHINGTON, D.C. — The Online News Association, the world’s largest membership organization of digital journalists, is pleased to announce the members of the ONA13 Student Newsroom, chosen from over 100 applicants across the globe, who will provide intensive coverage of the Online News Association Conference & Awards Banquet, October 17-20 in Atlanta.

For the fourth year running, Google will provide a $30,000 scholarship to cover registration, travel and lodging expenses for 38 students and mentors attending ONA13.

Mentored by distinguished working digital journalists and journalism professors, the mix of graduate and undergraduate students will bring a rich, varied set of multimedia skills and fresh perspective to conference coverage, using a range of digital formats and styles, including interactive text and graphics, live blogging, slideshows, audio and video.

“The talented group of students chosen this year follow in the footsteps of great Newsroom alumni,” said Jane McDonnell, ONA Executive Director. “We know they’ll do a stellar job covering the conference and we hope to see them make their mark on the industry in years to come.”

Under the direction of Committee Co-Chairs Michelle Johnson of Boston University and Katia Hetter of, the student team will be getting right to work. In the weeks leading up to ONA13, they’ll give attendees a comprehensive preview, including details on session topics and interviews with conference presenters and speakers.

The students are:

Brandi Bottalico, Towson University

Tercius Bufete, California State University, Chico

Anthony Cave, Florida International University

Beth Cortez-Neavel, University of Texas at Austin Graduate School of Journalism

Graham Clark, University of Southern California

Annie Daniel, The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Laura Davison, University of Missouri

Brittney Figueira, University of Massachusetts Amherst

Crystal Garner, The University of Southern Mississippi

Sean Greene, University of California Berkeley

Nikolas Iubel, Columbia University

Sandhya Kambhampati, E.W. Scripps School of Journalism at Ohio University

Max Knoblauch, Hofstra University

Arik Ligeti, Carleton University

Avni Nijhawan, University of California, Berkeley

Allison Prang, University of Missouri-Columbia

Luke Rafferty, S.I. School of Public Communications at Syracuse University

Beena Raghavendran, University of Maryland – College Park

Madeline Ross, Columbia University

Gabrielle A. Wright, New York University, Arthur L. Carter Journalism Institute

Submit a Comment

* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *