Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

ScoScoop | April 25, 2018

Scroll to top


No Comments

WRHU – National Student Production Awards Finalist

WRHU – National Student Production Awards Finalist

Screen Shot 2016-04-19 at 2.53.51 PM

WRHU 88.7 FM has been named a finalist in the College Broadcasters, Inc. (CBI) 2016 CBI National Student Production Awards:

Best News Reporting – AudioRadio

Hofstra University WRHU FM /, “Bully Beware, There’s An App For That!”
Radio Hofstra University WRHU FM /, “Stonewall Inn Feature”

Winners for each category will be announced at the CBI’s annual Awards Ceremony to be held at the National Student Electronic Media Convention, October 20-22 in Philadelphia, PA. Finalists and winners will be presented with their awards and certificates at the ceremony.

CBI represents students involved in radio, television, webcasting and other related media ventures; ensures a commitment to education and the student pursuit of excellence through active involvement in electronic media; promotes cooperative efforts between the Association and other national, regional, and state media organizations; facilitates the discussion of issues related to student-operated electronic media; and other community oriented programs.CBI currently represents more than 200 active radio and television stations.

WRHU is Hofstra’s award-winning student-run radio station, with studios in the Lawrence Herbert School of Communication. WRHU and its student reporters have won top honors from the New York State Associated Press Association, the Press Club of Long Island, the Society of Professional Journalists, and New York Women in Communications, and was ranked as the best college radio station in the nation by the Princeton Review from 2015-2016. WRHU has also been the flagship station of the New York Islanders since 2010, and is the first and only college radio station to have an exclusive broadcasting agreement with a professional major-league sports team.

More information is also available at Click on “Awards Finalists”

Submit a Comment

* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *